What to Wear: While Crafting

what to wear

stay naked.

it doesn’t matter how much thought I put into selecting an apartment, I always end up with a sweltering hot stuffy little sewing room.  Maybe I secretly like it that way.  This time around I have ample closet space, but it is still one hot little room for summer sewing.  When I heard the theme for this weeks What to Wear link-up I was a little stumped for ideas.  Immediately I had a flashbacks to the sewing room I used while I was still selling my crafts at multiple markets each week.  What happened in that room wasn’t pretty.  The cat spent most of that summer looking like an overstuffed lifeless mound of fluff under my sewing table.  And well, I was almost always naked.  not good naked.  Sweaty, irritable, grouchy naked.

But you’ve all been saved from seeing that photo.  My new crafting space is a little more forgiving.  With the help of a large fan I can usually keep my clothes on.

usually.

I spend most of my time either at the gym in workout clothes or in my crafting room.  Sadly, my wardrobe reflects this reality all too well.  Nope, no cocktail dresses and cute summer sandals in this girls closet.  If you were thinking of raiding my closet you might want to reconsider.  In summer the only outfits you will find are tight fitting running pants, moisture wick shirts or frock-ish tent like skirts, dresses and old t’s.  This has its limitations.  I’m not working too hard over here to be fashionable, but I still try and be presentable enough to answer the door. Just this morning I scored an awesome purple running top and a pile of vintage linens at the thrift store.  Hooray!

what to wear while craftingWhen I’m crafting or working away on some new creative ideas I tend to stick with what’s most comfortable.  Very little jewelry or anything that might snag or otherwise get in the way.  bare feet (but, of course!).  a comfy loose fitting skirt or dress.  Lately I’ve been wearing a lot of clothes that I’ve made myself, but when I got dressed this morning and headed to the sewing room I found myself in some old favourites.  This skirt has seen better days, but nothing beats an easy cotton wrap around.  The top is a simple thrifted grey tank.

so what’s going on in this photo…am I about to claw my own head?  maybe so.  maybe so.

Looking for the real fashions?  head on over to Nicole’s blog Gypsy in Jasper to see what the other ladies put together for What to Wear: While Crafting

3 thoughts on “What to Wear: While Crafting

  1. gypsyinjasper

    That skirt is out of this world. You might want to come off as unfashionable, but I don’t think that’s true. I think underneath you know you look good. 😉

    I wonder if telling your customers that you crafted your wares while naked is a good sales strategy!

    Reply
    1. letitunravel Post author

      I never thought of using ‘naked’ sewing as a marketing strategy! I buy a new version of that same skirt every few years because quite frankly it is the most comfortable thing ever.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

